The Village

Kirkby Overblow is a village and civil parish in the Harrogate district of North Yorkshire, England.  There are two pubs in Kirkby Overblow. The Shoulder of Mutton, which boasts a large beer garden, and the Star and Garter.

Kirkby Overblow is situated 4 miles south-east of Harrogate and 6 miles north west of Wetherby on a high south-facing ridge overlooking Wharfedale surrounded by farmland.

The church stands 365 feet above sea level and the village is said to be equidistant between the North and Irish seas on a line drawn from Bridlington Bay to Morecambe Bay. Approaching along Barrowby Lane the buildings of the village, dominated by the church tower, are visible lying long the ridge.

The historic core of Kirkby Overblow is the group of listed buildings comprising All Saints Church, the Old Rectory and Rectory Cottages. The village has developed in a T-shaped form from the intersection of Main Street and Barrowby Lane/Swindon Lane. Although Kirkby Overblow is located on a prominent ridge, the core of the village itself occupies a relatively flat site. All Saints Church occupies the highest point and the village falls away along the three main approaches, gradually to the south-east and north, and more dramatically to the west.

Expansion of the village has occurred mostly to the south-east along Barrowby Lane, where the newer development comprises 2-storey detached and semi-detached houses and bungalows. Wharfe Mews is a newer row of stone terrace houses within the Conservation Area.

The first written reference to Kirkby Overblow appears in the Domesday Book, where it appears as Cherchebi. The Kirkby part of the name is a common prefix, simply meaning a settlement by a church, while Overblow is a corruption of Oreblow, a reference to the village’s iron-smelting past.

Kirkby Overblow was a large ancient parish, which included the townships of Kearby with Netherby (including the hamlets of Kearby and Netherby), Rigton (which later became North Rigton), Sicklinghall and Stainburn. All these places became separate civil parishes in 1866.

OS Grid Reference SE325492



search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close